Recensie: Lust & Structure van Marielle Brouwer

Recensie: Lust & Structure van Marielle BrouwerLust & Structure by Marielle Brouwer
Series: Structure #3
Published by DunTax books on 1 mei 2018
Genres: New Adult, contemporary
Pages: 343
four-half-stars

Noah en Poppi hebben al een tijdje een seksrelatie.
Alleen voor Noah is dit niet meer genoeg. Langzaamaan is hij ergens zijn
hart verloren. Hij wil gewoon laten zien dat hij er voor haar kan zijn,
voor haar kan zorgen.

Poppi heeft genoeg aan zichzelf. Ze heeft geen man nodig om haar doelen te bereiken.
Daarbij kan een gebroken hart je kapot maken.
Maar wat als alles onder Noahs voeten vandaan geslagen wordt? Als hij merkt
dat hij niet altijd voor iedereen kan zorgen?
En als Poppi erachter komt dat het misschien niet beter is om je hele leven
alleen te blijven, maar misschien toch wel om je hart te verliezen.

Lees verder

four-half-stars

Recensie: More than we can tell van Brigid Kemmerer

Recensie: More than we can tell van Brigid KemmererMore than we can tell Published by Bloomsbury children's on 6 maart 2018
Genres: contemporary, young-adult
Pages: 416
Format: Kindle
five-stars

*While this book exists in the same universe as Letters to the Lost, it is a standalone title.*

Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed to keep them at bay...until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.

Emma Blue spends her time perfecting the computer game she built from scratch, rather than facing her parents’ crumbling marriage. She can solve any problem with the right code, but when an online troll’s harassment escalates, she’s truly afraid.

When Rev and Emma meet, they both long to lift the burden of their secrets and bond instantly over their shared turmoil. But when their situations turn dangerous, their trust in each other will be tested in ways they never expected. This must-read story will once again have readers falling for Brigid Kemmerer’s emotional storytelling.

Lees verder

five-stars

Recensie: The exact opposite of okay van Laura Steven

Recensie: The exact opposite of okay van Laura StevenThe exact opposite of okay by Laura Steven
Published by Electric Monkey on 8 maart 2018
Genres: young-adult, contemporary
Pages: 337
Format: Kindle
five-stars

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has...

Lees verder

five-stars

Recensie: Brooklynaire van Sarina Bowen

Recensie: Brooklynaire van Sarina BowenBrooklynaire by Sarina Bowen
on 12 februari 2018
Genres: romance, contemporary
Pages: 452
Format: Kindle
four-half-stars

A sexy new standalone from USA Today bestseller Sarina Bowen.

You'd think a billion dollars, a professional hockey team and a six-bedroom mansion on the Promenade would satisfy a guy. You'd be wrong.

For seven years Rebecca has brightened my office with her wit and her smile. She manages both my hockey team and my sanity. I don't know when I started waking in the night, craving her. All I know is that one whiff of her perfume ruins my concentration. And her laugh makes me hard.

When Rebecca gets hurt, I step in to help. It's what friends do. But what friends don't do is rip off each others' clothes for a single, wild night together.

Now she's avoiding me. She says we're too different, and it can never happen again. So why can't we keep our hands off each other?

Lees verder

four-half-stars

Recensie: Foolish hearts van Emma Mills

Recensie: Foolish hearts van Emma MillsFoolish hearts by Emma Mills
Published by Henry Holt and co on December 2017
Genres: young-adult
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

A contemporary novel about a girl whose high school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream leads her to new friends—and maybe even new love.

The day of the last party of the summer, Claudia overhears a conversation she wasn't supposed to. Now on the wrong side of one of the meanest girls in school, Claudia doesn't know what to expect when the two are paired up to write a paper—let alone when they're both forced to try out for the school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream.

But mandatory participation has its upsides—namely, an unexpected friendship, a boy band obsession, and a guy with the best dimpled smile Claudia's ever seen. As Claudia's world starts to expand, she finds that maybe there are some things worth sticking her neck out for.

Lees verder

five-stars

Recensie: Wonderland van meerdere auteurs

Recensie: Wonderland van meerdere auteursWonderland by Vanessa Gerrits, Patty van Delft, Marijke F. Janssen, Jennefer Mellink, Deborah Elisabeth, Jen Minkman, Eva Moraal, Rianne werring, Anne Nicolai, Chinouk Thijssen
Published by Dutch Venture Publishing on November 2017
Genres: contemporary, Thriller, fantasy
Pages: 358
Format: paperback

Dikke sneeuwvlokken, cadeautjes onder de boom, overal lichtjes en knusse kerststalletjes: het is weer tijd voor de gezelligste maand van het jaar. In navolging van internationale bestsellers ‘Let it snow’ en ‘My True Love Gave To Me’ hebben tien young adultauteurs uit Nederland en België een bundel vol romantische kerstverhalen geschreven die je hart sneller zullen doen kloppen. Van fantasy tot contemporary en van thriller tot paranormal: ‘Wonderland’ bevat voor ieder wat wils met verhalen waarin ware liefde en de kerstgedachte centraal staan.

Met deze collectie heb je tien goede redenen in handen om lekker bij de open haard te kruipen en weg te dromen tijdens de decembermaand!

Lees verder

Recensie: Queens of geek van Jen Wilde

Recensie: Queens of geek van Jen WildeQueens of geek by Jen Wilde
Published by Swoon reads on 14 maart 2017
Genres: contemporary
Pages: 288
Format: paperback
five-stars

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Lees verder

five-stars

Recensie: Eliza and her monsters van Francesca Zappia

Recensie: Eliza and her monsters van Francesca ZappiaEliza and her monsters by Francesca Zappia
Published by Harper Collins on 30 mei 2017
Genres: contemporary
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover
five-stars

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Lees verder

five-stars

Recensie: P.S. I like you van Kasie West

Recensie: P.S. I like you van Kasie WestP.S. I like you by Kasie West
Published by Point on 26 juli 2016
Genres: young-adult, contemporary
Pages: 330
Format: Hardcover
four-stars

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Lees verder

four-stars

Recensie: All the feels van Danika Stone

Recensie: All the feels van Danika StoneAll the feels by Danika Stone
Published by Swoon reads on 7 juni 2016
Genres: contemporary, young-adult
Pages: 336
Format: paperback
five-stars

College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal.

Tired of sitting in her room sobbing, Liv decides to launch an online campaign to bring her beloved hero back to life. With the help of her best friend, Xander, actor and steampunk cosplayer extraordinaire, she creates #SpartanSurvived, a campaign to ignite the fandom. But as her online life succeeds beyond her wildest dreams, Liv is forced to balance that with the pressures of school, her mother’s disapproval, and her (mostly nonexistent and entirely traumatic) romantic life. A trip to DragonCon with Xander might be exactly what she needs to figure out what she really wants.

Lees verder

five-stars